Subscribed to receive emails from service status forum

Hi,

I have a subscription to receive an email whenever there is a post to the service status forum. today there was a major outage and I did not receive this email.

Can someone please advise? I rather defeats the object if I don't get the email. For all I know I was without service and missing important customer calls. If I had gotten the email then at least I may have been able to divert my calls to another number. I am assuming this divert would work with the type of outage today of course :-)

Thanks
Paul

Re: Subscribed to receive emails from service status forum

You didn't receive any notifications because the forums went down along with everything else. Voipfone were supposed to be hosting the forums through a third party outside of their core network so in the event of a total failure like earlier customers could still access the forums.

I guess they decided against that idea.

Voipfone had a total core failure, all incoming numbers were dead and no failover or diverts were possible. It was as if Voipfone's data center had been stolen by aliens just like the hospital on that episode of dr who!
For everything VoIP
www.ukvoipforums.com

In fact I'm pretty annoyed. I ditched my last provider (sipgate) because they were unreliable and I never knew from one day to the next if my line was actually working without ringing it. I switched to voipfone based on their excellent service record and business grade service and support.

I'm wondering if I made the right choice now. First time there is a serious outage and I knew nothing about it.

Not good.

I have to say that yesterdays outage was frightening, I was out of my office, not normally a problem, all of the issues that voipfone trows up can be handled on line, Normally.