View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently April 27th, 2017, 12:46 pm



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Codecs switching 
Author Message

Joined: June 25th, 2009, 9:18 am
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
Hi,

I'm Voipfone PBX customer. And I'd like to switch currently used codec from G.711 to another one. I'd prefer G.729 if it's possible. So, how can I do that? Should I change codec type on my side only? Or I can switch the codec to another one using PBX interface?

wbr,
Serg


June 25th, 2009, 9:33 am
Profile
Voipfone Staff
Voipfone Staff

Joined: August 24th, 2006, 11:58 am
Posts: 705
Location: London
Reply with quote
You can change the setting in your phone. It can't be changed via the PBX settings.

We don't support G729 though i'm afriad.

_________________
Regards,

Voipfone Customer Services

iNet Telecoms Ltd (Voipfone)
Sovereign House
227 Marsh Wall
London
E14 9SD
United Kingdom

Registered number: 05168033
Vat Registration Number 858850966

Telephone: 020 7043 5555
Fax: 020 7043 5556

Web: http://www.voipfone.co.uk
Blog: http://www.voipfoneblog.co.uk
Forum: http://www.voipfoneuserforum.co.uk
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/voipfone


June 30th, 2009, 7:59 am
Profile WWW

Joined: May 3rd, 2011, 10:19 am
Posts: 1
Reply with quote
I found this old post but nothing more recent about codecs.

Do you still not support G729; and is there a plan to do so?

Thanks


May 3rd, 2011, 10:30 am
Profile
Voipfone Staff
Voipfone Staff

Joined: August 24th, 2006, 11:58 am
Posts: 705
Location: London
Reply with quote
anonymouse wrote:
I found this old post but nothing more recent about codecs.

Do you still not support G729; and is there a plan to do so?

Thanks


We don't support G729 and have no plans to do so.

_________________
Regards,

Voipfone Customer Services

iNet Telecoms Ltd (Voipfone)
Sovereign House
227 Marsh Wall
London
E14 9SD
United Kingdom

Registered number: 05168033
Vat Registration Number 858850966

Telephone: 020 7043 5555
Fax: 020 7043 5556

Web: http://www.voipfone.co.uk
Blog: http://www.voipfoneblog.co.uk
Forum: http://www.voipfoneuserforum.co.uk
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/voipfone


May 3rd, 2011, 8:28 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: November 5th, 2015, 9:25 pm
Posts: 30
Reply with quote
What about g.722?

I read this post at viewtopic.php?f=8&t=884 but what about if I'm using your SIP trunking to terminate in an Asterisk install? Does any codec just "pass through" your network? Or am I misunderstanding it?


November 6th, 2015, 7:08 am
Profile
Moderator

Joined: February 6th, 2006, 2:07 am
Posts: 550
Location: Swansea
Reply with quote
Voipfone do not support the g.722 codec on their network.

If you configure your asterisk server to use g.722 and any telephones connected through it then any internal calls will use g.722, any incoming or outbound calls placed over your Voipfone trunk will be transcoded.

_________________
For everything VoIP
www.ukvoipforums.com


November 8th, 2015, 9:08 pm
Profile WWW

Joined: November 5th, 2015, 9:25 pm
Posts: 30
Reply with quote
Customer Services wrote:
anonymouse wrote:
We don't support G729 and have no plans to do so.
I'm just wondering if the situation might change now. Was the decision not to support G729 a technical one, or based on the patents which have now expired? (See below)
Quote:
As of January 1, 2017 the patent terms of most Licensed Patents under the G.729 Consortium have expired, the remaining unexpired patents are usable on a royalty-free basis.[7] Thus, G.729 can be used free-of-charge.


February 7th, 2017, 10:10 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

Copyright 2004 - 2015, iNet Telecoms® Ltd . All rights reserved.